Building Board of Appeals

There are five (5) members on the Board, which governs zoning appeals in coordination with the Building and Code Enforcement division. The appointing authority for the Board is the Chief Executive with concurrence by the Council of Commissioners. The Building Board of Appeals is mandated by the Administrative Rules of the State of Montana and adopted by Council Bill Ordinance 266, according to Appendix B of the International Building Code (2009 Edition). For more information, refer to Butte-Silver Bow Municipal Code, Chapter 15.04.


The board meets on an ad hoc basis.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes


  • Stephen Hinick, Chairman (Term Expires 12/31/23)
  • James Kujawa (12/31/2021)
  • Leon Shaffer (12/31/2024)
  • Matt Egloff (12/31/2022)
  • Jack Skinner (12/31/2023)
  • Chuck Kestle (Alternative) (12/31/2022) 
  • Ron Kissock (Alternative) (12/31/2022)